American Farmland Trust Donate E-News Signup Contact  Site Map Search Go
Donate No Farms No Food Action Center  

Farmland Lobby Day – March 11, 2014

AFT lobby day March 2014 2

Thanks to farmers, local government officials and land trusts that met with legislators and executive staff on Tuesday to advocate for increased funding for the purchase of permanent conservation easements on farmland from the state Farmland Protection Program.



From left to right:

Ethan Winter, New York Conservation Manager, Land Trust Alliance

Tom Crowell, Director of Development & Outreach, Columbia Land Conservancy

Kathy Roome, Chair, Board of Directors, Agricultural Stewardship Association 

Chris Krahling, Project Manager,  Agricultural Stewardship Association

Rebecca Seaman, Chair, Town of Pleasant Valley Planning Board

Luke McKay, Project Manager, Peconic Land Trust

Rebecca Thornton, Executive Director, Dutchess Land Conservancy

Andy Bicking, Director of Public Policy, Scenic Hudson

Linda Garrett, Executive Director, Tug Hill Tomorrow Land Trust

Kristy Sullivan, Sullivans’ Heifer Hotel

Laura Ten Eyck, Senior Manager New York Projects & Outreach, American Farmland Trust

Not Pictured:

Zach Metzger & Willa, Homestead Farms, Rensselaer County

Jeff Jones, Land Trust Alliance

David Haight, New York State Director, American Farmland Trust (photographer)

This entry was posted in New York Policy, State Budget and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.